5th International Conference of the ERCIM WG on
1-3 December 2012, Conference Centre, Oviedo, Spain


5th International Conference of the ERCIM Working Group on


1-3 December 2012, Conference Center "Ciudad de Oviedo", Oviedo, Spain

Supported and organized by University of Oviedo and Queen Mary, University of London.

All topics within the Aims and Scope of the ERCIM Working Group Computing & Statistics will be considered for oral and poster presentation. Topics include, but not limited to: robust methods, statistical algorithms and software, resampling methods, high-dimensional data analysis, statistics for imperfect data, extreme value modeling, quantile regression and semiparametric methods, model validation, survival analysis, functional data analysis, Bayesian methods, optimization heuristics in estimation and modeling, computational econometrics, statistical signal extraction and filtering, small area estimation, latent variable and structural equation models, mixture models, matrix computations in statistics, time series modeling and computation, optimal design algorithms and computational statistics for clinical research.

Tutorials will be given by Andrew Harvey and Hans-Georg Müller.

The Keynote talks will be given by Peter Bühlmann, Hans-Georg Müller and Esther Ruiz.

The organization of Tracks and sessions within the framework of the Working Group are strongly encouraged. Suitable papers will be considered for publication in special or regular issues of CSDA. The meeting will take place jointly with the 6th CSDA International Conference on Computational and Financial Econometrics (CFE 2012). Tutorials will be given on Friday the 30th of November 2012. To obtain further information please Send an Email.

Publication: Papers containing strong computational statistical, or substantive data-analytic elements will be considered for publication in a special peer-reviewed, or regular, issues of the Journal CSDA.

International Organizing Committee: Ana Colubi, Christophe Croux, Erricos J. Kontoghiorghes and Herman K. Van Dijk.

Co-Chairs: Gil Gonzalez-Rodriguez, Geoff McLachlan, Hannu Oja, Marco Riani and Stephen Walker.

Scientific Program Committee:

E. Ahmed, A.M. Alonso, A.C. Atkinson, A. Christmann, A. Delaigle, T. Denoeux, M. Falk, P. Filzmoser, P. Foschi, C. Gatu, L.A. Garcia-Escudero, R. Gerlach, M.I. Gomes, A. Gordaliza, A. Grane, X. He, M.D. Jimenez-Gamero, M. Huber, T. Kneib, V. Leiva, A. Lijoi, J. Lopez-Fidalgo, A. Luati, G. Mackenzie, A. Mayo, S. Meintanis, I. Molina, D. Morales, D. Paindaveine, M.C. Pardo, S. Paterlini, I. Pruenster, E. Ronchetti, L. Ugarte, S. Van Aelst, I. Van Keilegom, P. Vieu, R. Zamar, A. Zeileis.

Local organizer: Department of Statistics, OR and DM. University of Oviedo, Spain.

Important dates:

Abstract submission for invited and organized sessions: 15 July 2012 (Submit an abstract)
Contributed abstract submission:21 September 2012 (Extended deadline. Submit an abstract)
Acceptance decision: 27 September 2012 (Decision is made at most two weeks after submission)
Presenting Authors Registration: 21 September 2012
Tutorial: 30 November 2012
Conference: 1-3 December 2012
Submission of full papers (optional): 15 February 2013 (Papers can be submitted at any time)
Notification of decision: 15 June 2013 (tentative)
Publication of the CSDA Special Issues: 15 December 2013 (tentative)